Skip to content

ELECTION 2020: SCT, Marshallville voters to consider fire/EMS levies

DGKN staff report

Absentee voting has begun and voters in Sugar Creek Township and Marshallville will have levies on the ballot to consider for fire and emergency medical services.
Here’s a brief overview of the proposed levies and information from the county Board of Elections about voting.

* East Wayne Joint Fire District is placing a two-year 2.9-mill levy on the ballot for 2020 and 2021 for fire and EMS. Voters in Dalton and Marshallville will see this levy on their ballots. A 2.9 mill levy means 29 cents for every $100 of valuation. Revenue generated is approximately $147,100.
* Residents in the northern unincorporated portion of Sugar Creek Township will see a fire and EMS levy on their ballot for the Northern Sugar Creek Township Fire District. Voters will see a two-year 2.9-mill levy, which will benefit EWFD. Revenue generated is approximately $125,000.
* Voters in the southern portion of Sugar Creek Township will see a 1.5-mill levy to consider for the Southern Sugar Creek Township Fire District. This amounts to 15 cents for every $100 of valuation. This two-year levy will benefit Kidron Volunteer Fire Department primarily, as well as Orrville Fire Department. Revenue generated is approximately $106,000.

Residents can visit the County Auditor’s website at to look up what their valuation would be. Also, more information is at and

Wayne County Board of Elections Director Julie Leathers Stahl says measures are in place to ensure votes will be tallied, according to a news release from the Wayne County Commissioners office.

Ohio legislators approved election mail to be deposited in drop boxes outside of county boards of elections. Another technological ad-vancement allows voters to track their ballot securely online at or at the Secretary of State website at

For in-person voting, a 48-point safety plan has been implemented in collaboration with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to ensure a safe experience at the polls. Additionally, boards of elections provide curbside voting, along with the secure drop box, at every BOE.

According to the Ohio Secretary of State website, voters are encouraged to wear face coverings (masks or shields), and the Ohio Voting Safety Plan sets in place guidance that will enhance the ability of county boards of elections to keep their voters and election officials safe. The 48-point plan includes, routine cleaning of voting machines and e-poll books, mask requirements and regular hand washing for all poll workers; social distancing recommendations, and making curbside voting available.

According to a Wayne County Board of Elections fact sheet, early voting begins this week at 200 Vanover St., Wooster:
* 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 6-9 and Oct. 12-16.
* 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Oct. 19-23
* 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Oct. 24
* 1-5 p.m. Oct. 25
* 8 a.m.-7 p.m. Oct. 26-30
* 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Oct. 31
* 1-5 p.m. Nov. 1
* 8 a.m.-2 p.m. Nov. 2.
The deadline for absentee ballot applications is noon Oct. 31. Mail-in ballots must be postmarked by Nov. 2. Polling locations will be open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Nov. 3.
Sample ballots are posted at and click on “Sample Ballot.”

Leave a Comment