Skip to content

Local fire departments receive state training reimbursement grants

Several local fire departments are recipients of 2022 Training Reimbursement Grants, according to a news release from the Ohio Department of Commerce’s Division of State Fire Marshal. Recipients include 208 fire departments in 70 counties throughout the state and the grants total $456,743.

“We’re committed to providing next-level training to any current and prospective firefighter so all are equipped to go home safely at the end of their shift,” State Fire Marshal Kevin Reardon said in the release. “Through training reimbursement and other grant programs, our office strives to get financial support into communities served by those first responders.”

While all firefighters, career or volunteer, are required to have the same level of basic training for state certification, this grant helps fire departments go beyond the basics to complete more advanced, nationally recognized training.

Fire departments were selected based on a variety of criteria, including the fire department’s annual budget, annual number of fire incidents and resident population served by the fire department. The State Fire Marshal Training Re-imbursement Grant application period opens every December.

In Wayne County, fire departments that received a grant include Apple Creek East Union Township ($1,500), Central Fire District ($1,400), Chippewa Township ($600), Kidron Volunteer Fire Department ($1,800), New Pittsburg ($3,000), Orrville ($600), Paint Township ($2,550), Rittman ($2,000), South Central Fire District ($3,000) and Wooster Township ($5,800).

Leave a Comment