Skip to content

PRIMARY ELECTION 2022: Local voters to consider fire/EMS levies, county commissioner on ballots

DGKN staff report

Primary Election Day is May 3 and voters in Sugar Creek Township and the East Wayne Fire District coverage area will have renewals of existing fire and EMS levies to consider. Also, Wayne County voters will see two candidates on the Republican ticket vying to fill a Wayne County Commission seat that will be open when Becky Foster completes her term at the end of this year.

Similar to November 2020, voters in the northern portion of Sugar Creek Township will be considering a 2.9-mill fire and EMS levy for their taxing district, which is called the Northern Sugar Creek Township Fire District and supports East Wayne Fire District. Voters in the southern portion of the township will see on the ballot again a 1.5-mill levy for their taxing district which is named the Southern Sugar Creek Township Fire District. This levy benefits KVFD primarily, as well as Orrville Fire Department, which covers a small area. Both of the levies are renewals of an existing levy and each of the levies are for two years.
The estimated tax revenue generated for the levy in the Northern Sugar Creek Township Fire District is $140,100. The levy in the southern taxing district is expected to bring in an estimated $103,700. The first collection will be in 2023.

Both Dalton and Marshallville residents also will see the renewal of an existing levy on their ballots in May. The renewal levy is 2.9 mills for two years to help pay for fire and EMS through East Wayne Fire District, which has a station in each of the villages. When the levy passed in November 2020, East Wayne Fire District was able to pay for staffing at the station for the first time. The district plans to continue as well as build upon service in the future.

Richard Frazier, of Fredericksburg, and Jonathan Hofstetter, of Kidron, are both on the Republican ticket for Wayne County Commissioner and the winner will advance to November’s general election. Frazier is lead pastor of DayBreak Community Church and executive director of the Wooster Hope Center, and Hofstetter is an area first responder who serves on the Sugar Creek Township board of trustees.

According to the Wayne County Board of Elections website, effective April 18, Bob Gibbs has withdrawn his candidacy for U.S. Representative to Congress. Any votes cast for Bob Gibbs will not be counted, the website states. The offices of State Senator, State Representative, and Member of State Central Committee will not appear on the May 3 Primary Election ballot.

The website also lists a couple of polling location changes. Voters who previously voted at Kidron Community Center will now vote at Sonnenberg Village Church, 13497 Hackett Road, Apple Creek, and voters who were assigned to Doylestown Public Library will now vote at Doylestown Village Hall, 24 S Portage St., Doylestown.

Leave a Comment