Skip to content

Bulldogs golf team claims early victories


Dalton’s golf team placed first at the Northwest Invitational last week. From left, Maxwell Moldovan (Ohio State’s #1 Golfer) Isaac Mori, Brendan Lehman, Jaden Schlabach, Todd Brahler, Zach Brahler and Coach Jeff Feller.

Dalton’s golf team is beginning the season strong.

Last year’s team proved that the Bulldogs golf program is a force to be reckoned with as the team made its trip to the Ohio High School Athletic Association state golf tournament.

The golf team has been doing well so far this season, said Coach Jeff Feller. And golfers are setting their sights high again.

The team has 14 players this year.

“We will be led by our three seniors: Jaden Schlabach, Brendan Lehman, and Todd Brahler,” Feller said. “The players are excited to get the season started. We expect ourselves to be battling for the WCAL title.”

Last week, the golf team won the Northwest Invitational with a team score of 317. Individual scores were Schlabach 73, Todd Brahler 74, Brendan Lehman 78 and Zach Brahler 92.

The team placed second at Tannenhauf Invitational with a team score of 325. The Bulldogs competed with 18 Division II and III teams. Schlabach tied for medalist with 74, Lehman 78, Todd Brahler 80, Zach Brahler 93.

At the beginning of the season, the team placed fifth at the Simonson Invitational at Brookside in Ashland with a team score of 340. The top scores were Lehman 77, Schlabach 82, Todd Brahler 82, and Zach Brahler 99. Lehman finished 2nd overall as an individual.

At the CVCA Invite at Glenmoor Country Club, the team placed sixth, Feller said. The team score was 341. Top scores were Schlabach 78, Lehman 82, Todd Brahler 84, Zach Brahler 97. Schlabach placed sixth overall as an individual.

“I think the team does have high expectations because of their success last year,” Feller said. “While it will be hard to replace the spots that last year’s seniors (Trevor Horst and Preston Wenger) left, we do have a good group of promising newcomers in Zach Brahler, Isaac Mori, Alex Cross, and Madison Wade.”

Leave a Comment